top of page
  • Writer's pictureLeo Garza López



Album Art by Emmy Mikelson, untitled, mixed-media. (Click to download high-resolution image)

First Single “The Difference” Out April 21

"I'm not sure what I was expecting but it really hits hard! Right out the gate." - Dominic East, The War On Drugs*

Rocks In Your Head Records, founded by Sonny Smith of Sonny and the Sunsets, is excited to announce the July 21, 2023 release date for Brooklyn 4-piece rock outfit Nevāda Nevada’s debut LP, Past Life. The album will be released digitally wherever music is streamed or sold, as well as on Vinyl.

Nevāda Nevada songs are lush, loud, melodic piano-and-guitar landscapes nested within an awful lot of noise, penned by frontman Kathryn Musilek (Burn Disco Burn, Deathships) and shaped and arranged by the band: Andrew Gerhan (Our Lady of the Highway, Adam Arcuragi, The Animals), David Olson (The Poison Control Center, The Wheelers) and Alicia Berbenick. In addition, Isiah Gage plays cello that sometimes sounds like horses, and Anya Combs plays supremely skronky, no-wave saxophone.

Musilek’s lyrics are figurative and feminist, full of abrupt shapes and bright-siding about “the difference a day made a decade ago,” or the more weighted and upsetting fact that “we can leave”, but it’s not going to change much. The songs on Past Life are about time and activism, love and rage, and being stuck while still building something.

Nevāda Nevada’s signing to Rocks in Your Head is a natural fit; NN band member/producer Andrew Gerhan recorded and mixed a number of Sonny and the Sunsets’ classic albums including Tomorrow is Alright which was called perhaps "the most iconic SF album" by the SF Examiner, and contains the beloved hit single Too Young to Burn. Read about the signing on Music Connection: "Nevāda Nevada Signs To Rocks In Your Head Records" - MUSIC CONNECTION

Past Life is a follow-up to their Wild and Glowing EP out now. Pre-order will be available soon.

PR Resources/ Press Kit/ Images/ Bio available at Email Jackie Davis with all PR Inquiries:

Left-to-Right: Andrew Gerhan, Kathryn Musilek, Alicia Berbenick, David Olson (Click to download high-resolution image - Photo by Jacob Blickenstaff) Artist: Nevāda Nevada Album Title: Past Life Label: Rocks In Your Head Records Track List: 1. We Can Leave 2. The One About the Sky 3. Loaded 4. CHARGE 5. Promise / Romance / Wine 6. Trickster 7. Risky Shit 8. Wild and Glowing 9. Fancy Shoes 10. The Difference

Pre-Sale date for vinyl and digital copies of Past Life will be announced soon

About ROCKS IN YOUR HEAD RECORDS: Rocks In Your Head Records is a record label out of San Francisco, California founded by Sonny Smith, frontman for Sonny and the Sunsets. More info about artists and music at Bandcamp and Youtube.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page